top of page
Search

aftermath of hurricane Michael


In the wake of hurrican Michael people are finding themselves without food, water and shelter. The panhandle was hit with a catagory 4 hurricane. The strongest to hit the US in 100 years, says governor Rick Scott, with wind speed toping out at 155 mph; just 2 mph short of a hurricane 5. No one could have imagined the devestation that would be left behind. Residents are looking at months before their water and electric gets restored. Yes I said MONTHS.

Hurricane Michael is a great example of what mother nature can do. How she can come along and disrupt everyone’s lives in the blink of an eye.

Panama City Beach, Florida is not only one of the places that got hit but it is also my hometown. My families homes were destroyed. The middle school I attended is unrecognizable. Everywhere I look I see sorrow. This weighs heavy on my heart…you can feel the pain and suffering. It’s on everyone’s faces everywhere you look. It’s almost palpable.

I say all of that because I want people to realize that material things are useless. You could loose everything you’ve worked your whole life for in the blink of an eye. Next thing you know you find yourself homeless for the first time in your life.

It’s funny though, people walk around as if nothing could ever happen to them. As if there is some sort of bubble around them that protects them from everything they see on the news. I work in a hospital with a lot of very sick people. Over the years I’ve noticed that those who were the sickest always made it a point to tell me not to wait for what I wanted. If I have a dream to go for it because no one knows how long they have on this earth. I say this, not to bum anyone out but because a lot of times this would be said in a way that lets you know what is important and what’s not. Family should always come first. Period.

Through all of that I noticed that people were spending time with each other. Some for the first time in a long time. You see bonfires, people laughing, and crying, but they are together. They are uncomfortable because they are out of their norm but they are working together just as people did before electricity and supermarkets. Instead of seeing people staring at their phones they are actually looking each other in the eye. It’s sad it took a hurricane to intervene and wake everyone up. I pray that when all is said and done and people are back to their “normal” lives they do not forget the good things that come from this disaster.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page